Apocalypse Snow   Leave a comment

In the bleak midwinter.

At lunchtime I ignored the Met Office’s advice (“abandon all hope, ye who exit here”), braved the sky’s payload of frigid, crystalline death, and went to the shop.

I didn’t panic-buy biscuits whilst I was there, which was risky, because – even with harsh rationing to 100 grams per day – my supplies will be exhausted in as little as three weeks. And that’s if you count Jaffa Cakes as biscuits, which I know is controversial.

My supply of baked beans will be exhausted at about the same time. Tea with milk (and fresh fruit and vegetables) shall be but a distant memory.

Once that happens, I’ll cook an emergency batch of shortbread (using ghee, or perhaps vegetable oil, instead of butter), pack the two out-of-date tins of mulligatawny soup that have been “saved” for the direst emergencies, and strap on my sword.

And set out across the desolate, frozen wastes.

In search of hobnobs.

Leave a Reply

