Repellant   Leave a comment

Odd that it’s necessary.

Friday was the proof-in-the-eating of my “No cold callers or sellers thank you” sign, and it has so far proven 100% effective at deterring unwanted door-botherers.

It has also effectively repelled:

  • Vampires
  • Sharks and other marine predators
  • Both carnivorous and herbivorous dinosaurs
  • Alien invasion
  • The rise of the machines.

Which is pretty impressive value for money for £3.55, I think. It also doesn’t seem to deter regular visitors, as my uncle visited unimpeded on Saturday afternoon, so if you were worried about false positives fear not. However, since it has been hung up there has been a notable lack of both: attractive members of either sex with a gleam in their eye and amorous intent, and unsolicited offers of great wealth, at my door. It’s also not done much for world peace, although that was in short supply beforehand. Still, I thought it only fair to warn you, just in case.

Otherwise, it was a pretty quiet day. Work wasn’t eventful and I didn’t get much practical done. I think I played some games, possibly AI War and Frozen Synapse.
I did write some blog posts (it seems a cop-out to write in your blog diary that you wrote your blog diary, but it did consume a good three hours of the day), which led to WordPress asking quite a few questions, the only one worth answering (despite not actually being a question) being:

Name a discontinued product that you wish you could still buy.
A social life. Ten years ago I had one without even trying, but these days I wouldn’t even know where to go to get one. What happened to them?

Leave a Reply

